Emergency? Call 911

  • Text 911 if you are unable to call.
  • Know your location.
  • We can't help you if we can't find you.

Overview - general Information regarding the formation and organization of JCECA (rev 060418)


The State of Colorado under Article 11 of Title 29 of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) as amended provides for the ability of local government entities to enter into agreements for the purpose of providing Emergency Telephone Service.  On October 28, 1983 the following local governments entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) to form the Jefferson County Emergency Telephone Service Authority (JCETSA):

1.     County of Jefferson

2.     City of Arvada

3.     City of Broomfield

4.     City of Edgewater

5.     City of Golden

6.     Town of Lakeside

7.     City of Lakewood

8.     Town of Morrison

9.     Town of Mountain View

10.   City of Westminster

11.   City of Wheat Ridge

12.   Arvada Fire Protection District

13.   Bancroft Fire Department (later merged into the West Metro FPD)

14.   Coal Creek Canyon Fire Protection District

15.   Elk Creek Fire Protection District

16.   Evergreen Fire Protection District

17.   Fairmount Fire Protection District

18    Foothills Fire Protection District

19.   Genesee Fire Protection District

20.   Inter-Canyon Fire Protection District

21.   Idledale Fire Protection District (later merged into the Genesee FPD)

22.   Indian Hills Fire Protection District

23.   Littleton Fire Protection District (later disbanded, area now served by the South Metro Fire Rescue Authority)

24.   Lakewood Fire Protection District (later merged into the West Metro FPD)

25.   Lookout Mountain Fire Protection District (later merged into the Foothills FPD)

26.   Mt. Vernon Fire Protection District (later merged into the Foothills FPD)

27.   Pleasant View Metro District Fire Department

28.   West Adams Fire Protection District (later merged into the North Metro Fire Rescue District)

29.   Wheat Ridge Fire Protection District (later merged into the West Metro FPD)

Today there are 23 local government agencies that are signatory to the IGA.

Board of Directors

Subsequent amendments to the IGA provided a mechanism for appointment of the five directors by the county commissioners as follows:

  • One position held by a county commissioner
  • Two positions appointed by the county commissioners from nominees submitted by the cities and towns.
  • Two positions appointed by the count commissioners from nominees submitted by the special districts.

Executive Director

The JCECA Executive Director oversees the day to day business operations of the Authority.  The Executive Director meets monthly with an Advisory Committee consisting of representatives of the IGA signatory local governments.  The Advisory Committee reviews and provides recommendations to the board regarding expenditure requests to be presented to the board.  The Advisory Committee participates in the budgeting process with the Executive Director and discusses operational issues pertinent to the provision of 9-1-1 services in the Authority service area.

Name Change

The Board of Directors adopted Resolution 09-01 on May 21, 2009 changing the name of the Authority to the Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority (JCECA).

Contact Information:

Jeffrey J. Irvin, Executive Director

Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority (JCECA)

433 S Allison Pkwy, Lakewood, CO  80226-3133

Direct: 303-539-9410, Wireless/SMS: 303-898-0586

E-mail: jirvin@jceca.org , Web: https://jceca.org

Legal Counsel

Attorney Ryan Tharp

Fairfield and Woods, P.C.

1801 California St, Ste 2600

Denver, CO 80202

Main: (303) 830-2400, Fax: (303) 830-1033

E-mail: RTharp@fwlaw.com, Web: http://www.fwlaw.com/

Colorado Department of Local Government (LG) ID: 30128, Government Type 60.

Emergency Telephone Service Charge

Effective 01/01/2020, for telephone subscriber billing addresses that are within the JCECA service area, telephone service providers remit a $1.30 Emergency Telephone Charge (ETC) per month for each wireline, wireless and static VoIP subscriber line. In 2010 the State of Colorado passed legislation that requires that prepaid wireless telephone service providers remit ETC via a charge required at the point of sale (POS).  These funds are collected by the Colorado Department of Revenue (DOR) and a percentage is remitted to JCECA based on the percentage of 9-1-1 call traffic experienced by the JCECA Emergency Communication Centers (ECC's).  JCECA provides funding for three ECC's:

      C.R.S. 29-11-104 – sets forth the purposes for which the ETC funds collected may be spent.  This includes, but is not

      limited to:

  • Purchase, installation and maintenance of systems for the receipt and routing of emergency calls.
  • Monthly recurring charges of service suppliers and basic emergency service providers (BESPs) for the emergency telephone service.
  • Costs related to the provision of the emergency notification service and the emergency telephone service, including costs associated with total implementation of both services by emergency service providers, including costs for programming, radios, and emergency training programs.
  • Other costs directly related to the continued operation of the emergency telephone service and the emergency notification service.
  • Emergency medical dispatch (EMD) systems and training.
  • Personnel expenses necessarily incurred for a public safety answering point but limited to call takers, dispatchers and personnel who maintain the computer database of the PSAP.

Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority (JCECA)

433 S Allison Pkwy, Lakewood, CO 80226-3133

303-539-9410, Email: jirvin@jceca.org

©2020 all rights reserved